Topical Meeting on Diffractive Optics 2019

From Monday, 16 september 2019 to Thursday, 19 september 2019

Add to calendar

  • Jena, Germany
Jena, Germany

Important Dates

Welcome Reception Sunday, 15 September 2019
Conference Program Monday 16 - Thursday 19 September 2019
Submission opens end of March 2019
Submission deadline 31 May 2019



Jari Turunen (Finland)

Frank Wyrowski (Germany)


Historical perspectives

This topical meeting series on diffractive optics was established by the present program co-chairs in 1995, with the inaugural meeting in Prague. The series continued on a biennial basis with meetings held in Savonlinna (1997), Jena (1999), Budapest (2001), Oxford (2003), Warsaw (2005), Barcelona (2007), Koli (2010), and Delft (2012). In 2014 and 2016 the Diffractive Optics meeting was arranged as a part of EOSAM. In 2016, however, a decision was made by EOS to re-establish it as an independent EOS Topical Meeting, again to be held biennially. The meeting was held in Joensuu (2017), with a conference dinner in the medieval castle in Savonlinna, thus coming back to the roots of the meeting.

From the beginning, these topical meetings have gathered an audience of roughly 100-150 attendees, some of whom have participated in the meetings from the start. Again, our intention is to organize an informal, working-shop-like gathering of like-minded people, respecting the old traditions but also expanding the scope according to recent developments in the field.

top of page

Scope of the meeting

The scope of the meeting covers all fundamental and applied aspects of diffractive optics and related fields. The topics include but are not limited to:

  • Fundamental theory
  • Diffraction gratings: theory and applications
  • Focusing, shaping, and splitting of light
  • Field tracing models
  • Subwavelength structures, metamaterials, and plasmonics
  • Source modeling; partially coherent and broadband fields
  • Polarization effects
  • Diffractive optics at short wavelengths
  • Temporal diffractive optics
  • Virtual reality
  • Industrial and commercial applications

Organizing Committee

  • Jari Turunen (co-chair, Finland)
  • Frank Wyrowski (co-chair, Germany)
  • Hannele Karppinen (EOS representative)
  • Elina Koistinen (EOS representative)