To support the participation of students at EOSAM2021, EOS will present several student awards for oral and poster presentations.

The student awards include a diploma and an honorarium of 500€. 
Any student who wishes to apply for a presentation award should announce this when submitting their abstract. Students are highly encouraged to participate in the student award. Awards are kindly sponsored by Bühler, Evatec, International Commission of Optics (ICO), and Rhysearch.


In addition to these awards, the Italian Society for Optics and Photonics, SIOF will present the Early-Stage Researcher award for the best oral presentation.    

SIOF, the Italian branch of EOS, organizes a session in the field of Optics and Photonics for Early-Stage Researchers (ESRs) inside the EOSAM2021 event. The participants must be in the first four years (full-time equivalent research experience) of their research careers and have not been awarded a doctoral degree. We encourage PhD students to express their ideas and describe their scientific achievements to the conference audience. 



The best student poster presentation (sponsored by Zeiss):

Tunable and polarization-insensitive metamaterial absorber in the visible spectrum by Benjamin Asamoah (University of Eastern Finland)

The best student presentation (sponsored by EOS):

100-W, 100-MW, 50-fs thin-disk laser oscillator based on Yb:YAG by Jakub Drs (University of Neuchâtel)

The best student presentation (sponsored by evatec):

Spontaneous photon pair generation in nonlinear metasurfaces by Tomás Santiago-Cruz (Max Plank Institute for the Science of Light)

The best student presentation (sponsored by Buhler):

In-vivo fabrication of bioelectronic interface via polymerization of conjugated oligomers by Giuseppina Tommasini (Instituto di Scienze Applicate e Sistemi Intelligenti & Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche)

The best student presentation (sponsored by RhySearch):

Ultra-broadband stochastic resonance of light enabled by memory effects in the nonlinear response by Kevin Peters (AMOLF)

The best student presentation (sponsored by Nikon):

Tuning photothermal dynamics in gold nanoparticle-loaded agarose gel for plasmon-enhanced drug release by Andrea Schirato (Politecnico di Milano & Italian Institute of Technology)

The best student presentation (sponsored by ICO):

Sub-light-cycle control of relativistic plasma-mirrors by Marie Ouillé (Laboratoire d'Optique Appliquée)