Call for nominations: EOS Board Elections 2022

  • On Monday, 14 march 2022

Call for Nominations


The European Optical Society (EOS) will be holding elections to the Board of Directors later this year. With this Call, EOS is seeking nominations. The nomination period is now open and will last until March 31, 2022.


The procedures for the elections are governed by Articles 4 and 7 of the Constitution of EOS. Article 4 says: “Board elections by the membership take place every two years, with 5 seats being contested at each election. Board members may only be re-elected once.” Article 7 says: “All individual members of the Society (full, associate, student and corporate) are eligible to vote.”


You will find information about the current Board of Directors here. The following five colleagues will be on the Board of Directors for at least until 2024: Patricia Seconds (as EOS President 2022-24), then Roelene Botha, Emiliano Descrovi, Maite Flores-Arias and Myriam Zerrad (who are all in the middle for their four-year term).


The five vacancies for this election are the seats of Gilles Pauliat (who will become ex officio member of the Board as Past President), Mario Bertolotti (not eligible any more after two terms), Michael Pfeffer (term ends, but eligible for re-election), Matthieu Roussey (term ends, but eligible for re-election), and a seat that was not occupied in 2020-2022.


As to the nomination process, Article 7 continues: “Any member can propose candidates. Each candidate must be nominated by at least three members. Candidates for the Board must be voting members of the Society.” Each EOS member is entitled to nominate up to three candidates.


EOS House Rules say, that “if the nomination is made by letter, this letter must be signed by all three (or more) members making the nomination (though separate letters are, of course, permitted). In the case of email nominations, separate emails are required from the three (or more) members making the nomination. Nominations of candidates are to be sent to the Election Officer.”


According to this, you are asked to send nominations either by letter to my postal address (Prof. Dr. Jürgen Jahns, FernUniversität in Hagen, Universitätsstr. 1 - Geb. 3, 58097 Hagen, Germany) or directly by email ( by March 31, 2022.


Any society lives by its membership, the enthusiasm and willingness of individuals to actively participate in the scientific life and its organisation. Please, consider nominating a colleague or seeking nomination yourself.


Jürgen Jahns, EOS Election Officer 2022                                                                 February 1, 2022