EOS Board Elections 2024


The European Optical Society (EOS) will be holding elections to the Board of Directors later this year. With this Call, EOS is seeking nominations. The nomination period is now open and will last until April 22nd 2024.

The procedures for the elections are governed by Articles 4 and 7 of the Constitution of EOS. Article 4 says: “Board elections by the membership take place every two years, with 5 seats being contested at each election. For consecutive mandates, no more than two are allowed.” Article 7 says: “All individual members of the Society (full, associate, student and corporate) are eligible to vote.”

As to the nomination process, Article 7 continues: “Any member can propose candidates. Each candidate must be nominated by at least three members. Candidates for the Board must be voting members of the Society.” Each EOS member is entitled to nominate up to three candidates.

EOS House Rules say that “if the nomination is made by letter, this letter must be signed by all three (or more) members making the nomination (though separate letters are, of course, permitted). In the case of email nominations, separate emails are required from the three (or more) members making the nomination. Nominations of candidates are to be sent to the Election Officer.”

According to this, you are asked to send nominations by April 22nd 2024, directly by email to: hmichinel@uvigo.es , or by letter to my postal address:

Prof. Dr. Humberto Michinel,

Edificio Manuel Martinez Risco.

Campus de As Lagoas, Ourense 32004 Spain


With my best regards,

Humberto Michinel, EOS Election Officer 2024

March 15, 2024